Space exploration is much too expensive and the money should be spent on more important things. What is your opinion?

There is a controversy that the government should use the money spent on exploring space on more essential things, given how pricey they are. In my opinion, it is a valid argument, and in this essay, I’m going to state my agreement and explain my reasoning. Firstly, it is known that the funds used for this activity and research mostly come from the amount of taxes paid by citizens of a country. It would be most convenient to try to minimise the main struggles of residents with the money earned from their immense work. To give an illustration, cancer remains one of the deadliest diseases worldwide. Despite this, a definitive cure has yet to be discovered. In today’s rapidly changing world, it is a shame that a major cause of death globally is still without an effective cure. Naturally, the process of searching for a cure requires a large amount of money as well as the studies done on space. For instance, the government spends approximately a million in a year, solely for space purposes. Whereas, there have not been established answers to whether scientists are being funded sufficiently to do research on cancer. Furthermore, in a world where we are dealing with a growing global warming, it is not beneficial to support space exploration that is mostly possible with spaceships. That is to say, the energy used for the preparation of a rocket and its journey to space, is found to be harmful to the Earth. I believe a more effective way of spending that money would be to create organisations solely for saving the earth, and trying to minimise the damage done to our planet. As an example, there are many campaigns in need of proper funding, with the main goal of advertising various ways of being helpful to the world. In conclusion, it is crucial for the government to pay attention to the needs of residents, and spend the large money for a better cause, rather than space exploration