PART 2: The values we learn from our parents and family have a greater influence on our success than the knowledge and the skills we learn at school. To what extend do you agree or disagree

In today’s interconnected world, acquiring the right skills has become essential for achieving success. It is, therefore, suggested that parental values can offer more opportunities compared to academic knowledge taught in schools. While these life skills can be beneficial for children to achieve their goals, in my opinion, without academic knowledge, it would ultimately be a waste. It can be argued that learning practical skills from caregivers can help the younger generation find more opportunities because of stronger communication abilities. Having good daily conversations with both colleagues and managers can be beneficial for prospective individuals to move to another section where they are capable of making more money. Grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins create a rich tapestry of relationships that enhance children’s confidence and leadership abilities, which employees highly value. Beyond these advantages, children can also learn how to spot potential hazards in various situations in their lives, preventing them from being unsuccessful and facing bankruptcy. Teaching the detrimental effects of cybercrimes, such as online fraud, is more likely to fall under parents’ responsibility, which schools often fail to provide. These points present a compelling argument for caregivers’ influence on their children’s success. No doubt, these arguments can contribute to a person’s success. However, schools can also play an indispensable role in socializing children to participate in broader social groups and providing a solid foundation for their future majors. In developed countries like Finland and China, for example, where there are more opportunities for children’s success, there is generally a stronger focus on core school subjects. Mathematics, foreign languages, and science are pertinent examples of these subjects, which students need to comprehend, providing them with a regular source of income in many fields of work. In fact, as they are living in a technological world, this valuable knowledge often needs to take precedence over all other considerations. Therefore, I personally suggest that practical life skills and academic knowledge need to be given equal attention, as both have been proven to contribute meaningfully to becoming a mature member of society. In conclusion, lessons learned from family, including having good communication with everyone and acting as a strong deterrent to various challenges, can provide numerous advantages. However, core academic knowledge in educational institutions should also be taken into account when assessing the factors of success.