Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Eating unhealthy food has been noted to affect the consumers and the community in which they reside. Whilst many argue that a ‘fat tax ’ is not necessary as it might make the consumers feel cheated, I believe that the Government should tax these foods, as this can lead to a reduction in the consumption rate. On the one hand, people should have the right to consume any food of their choice without feeling cheated. Imposing tax on unhealthy food can feel like cheating for those who consume it. This is because other food items that are considered to be healthy are not taxed, so people who eat food good for their health will be charged less than people who eat harmful food. It would seem like the Government is playing favouritism. For example, teenagers who are given pocket money might only be able to afford good food and will miss out on burgers and fries, which they enjoy because of affordability. On the other hand, taxing food that is not healthy can lead to low consumption, which, in turn, would reduce diseases. Most people buy affordable food for every day and buy expensive food occasionally. This means that if tax is added, the prices of the unhealthy food will rise and not many people will be able to afford it. In addition, it is important to note that as prices increase, demand reduces. I believe that this is the best way to cut down consumption of bad food. In conclusion, although imposing a fat tax can lead to the consumers feeling cheated, as they will be unable to afford the food they want, I believe this tax will reduce the consumption rate, and this will be of great benefit to the consumers and the community.