Long distance flight consumes the amount of fuel that a car uses for many years and pollutes the air. Some people think that we should discourage non-essential flights, such as tourists travel, rather than limit the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Fuel consumption of a long-distance aeroplane is significantly higher than a car uses for the years. Some people believe that non-commercial flights should be discouraged for tourism in order to reduce air pollution, instead of restricting the number of cars on the streets. In my opinion, i completely agree with this statement, non-essential flights should be restricted, and sustainable alternative methods should be prioritised. One of the primary reasons for reducing unnecessary flights is to protect the environment. Air travel consumes a significant amount of fuel regardless of its travelling distance, and pollutes the air by emitting higher carbon dioxide. Recent research has found that, aviation contributes 4% of the world's total carbon dioxide emissions, and causes global warming and climate change. Therefore, reducing the number of non-essential flights means having a positive impact on environmental issues. Furthermore, aviation companies are also exploring the option to introduce greener planes, which will run through alternative and sustainable energy sources, and will reduce dependence on fossil fuel. Hence, the government should introduce policies for individuals and companies to commute with alternative options until the flight changes to eco-friendly energies. On the other hand, I believe that there is no need to reduce the number of cars in big cities. Instead, the government should make cars which use renewable energy sources. In the UK, for example, the authority has introduced a new law for car production companies, that all cars from 2030 should be run by electricity. As a result, cars would not need to depend on fossil fuels, which is the main cause of environmental issues. In addition, tourism via planes is not mandatory, people can use alternative options such, cruise ships, or fast trains. Many people travel around the world via cruise ships, and it not only entertains individuals but also keeps economical growth for the country. In conclusion, instead of reducing the number of cars, authorities should consider decreasing the number of air travels. I believe that, non-essential flights are not necessary for tourism, people can rather travel by alternative options. And I also argue that aviation companies should focus on introducing greener planes in the near future, so that, we can protect the world by reducing the environmental issues.