Some people believe that environmental issues should be the first priority of humanity in the 21th century. To what extent do you agree with the view expressed?

Many individuals think that the natural environment should be prioritised in contemporary society. I partly agree, because of the extent to which climate change is affecting people today, but I also believe in a balanced approach that considers other conundrums too. The supporters of the first view believe in addressing the effects of environmental issues so as to reduce the damage and create sustainable natural futures. Problems such as climate change, for example, have led to debilitating challenges such as high temperatures and glaciation. Seasonal changes are evident in places such as Australia, where winters are not cold, while they were traditionally hot; likewise, you cannot be sure about when to expect rain, as we no longer have a rainy season. Therefore, it makes sense to invest more resources into understanding and addressing climate change in society. On the other hand, however, humanity must not neglect other challenges which are equally detrimental. Globalisation has brought new forms of challenges that require immediate and global effort to eradicate. COVID-19 exemplifies this well, due to the nature in which it brought the entire world to a standstill, causing catastrophic deaths, preventing mobility and coercing people into social distancing. Hence, while addressing the environment, there is a need to also invest attention in other global challenges such as health, migration, and poverty. In conclusion, therefore, while some people believe that environmental issues should be the first priority of humanity in the 21st century, I believe in a balanced approach. I partly agree that humanity should pay close attention to nature, but, just as they also do to public health, migration, poverty and other pressing contemporary challenges.