Some people think that animals should be kept in men made cells. What are the disadvantages of keeping animal in zoos?

Certain Individuals ponder that animals should kept in zoos, since they view the animals as a product for entertainment and interaction. In my opinion, although there are clear advantages and disadvantages of keeping animals in zoos, these are only expressed in practical terms, without focusing on animal welfare. In this essay, I will provide some evidence along with some relative examples in further paragraphs.

On one hand, zoos have gained great popularity due to our cursiness in interacting and being closer to wild animals. However, few people wonder whether animals really live a full life or only survive in well-decorated spaces with food. Although animals in captivity may appear to be in good condition at first glance, the reality is that they often live in a state of constant stress. For example, a group of experts examined a group of primates in a famous zoo in California to measure their levels of stress and anxiety in their habitat. The study showed that their level was moderate to high, especially during the days when more people visited the zoo.

On the other hand, simply keeping animals in captivity to interact with humans does not necessarily imply a form of exploitation and mistreatment. For instance, some animal reserves provide places for animals without removing them from their natural habitat. One of these is " Mindo", located in the Amazon equator, where people can learn, feed and even touch animals, in a natural and free environment, which also gathers funds and makes visitors aware of animal enclosures in captivity. In this regard, zoos that profit from animals should aim for the same goal, to give visitors a chance to discover animals in their natural habitat without subjecting them to constant stress. Moreover, and no less important, the savings in food, veterinary, and maintenance would be enormous, since they would get all of that naturally.

To conclude, animal welfare in zoos should be a priority, considering that the animals are kept outside their natural habitats in confined spaces and exposed to intense external stimuli. Today, there are alternatives that serve the same entertainment purpose without compromising the animals ' mental health, while offering visitors an even more enriching and intimate experience.