Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reuce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate that a recent study revealed that criminals who have an educational qualification are less likely to be involved in criminal activities. Hence, it is considered an effective measure to educate them while in prison in order to reduce crime rates. I strongly agree with this statement because it provides job opportunities with regular earnings and allows them to be better citizens. Firstly, obtaining a degree offers a stable job and income for criminals. This means that people are involved in criminal activities when they don't have a stable job and income. They commit theft or burglary to make money in order to manage their expenses, such as paying for accommodation, food expenses, and so on. Therefore, learning vocational courses while in prison gives them an opportunity to secure a job when they are released, which prevents them from getting involved in further offences. For instance, it is evident that minor incidents such as theft and burglary were significantly reduced in India when the government introduced vocational training courses in jail. Furthermore, such learning shifts their thinking abilities and gives them a good perspective of life. This means that education makes them regret their actions and the disruptions caused to society. Additionally, they prefer to give back to the community in order to compensate for their actions to enhance societal integration. For example, a recent survey revealed that folks in rehabilitation programs show their interest towards protecting people and society by taking part in more community work. Therefore, it is clear that providing learning courses while serving sentences would prevent them from getting involved in reoffences. In conclusion, some people believe that providing education while in prison will significantly reduce crime rates. I strongly agree with this argument as it provides an opportunity to earn a stable income and helps to understand the importance of life, which eventually reduces the crime rate.