Electric vehicles are far less damaging to the environment when compared to gasoline cars. This is why governments all around the world should promote the manufacturing and use of electric cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undoubtedly true that gasoline cars are more detrimental to the atmosphere than electric vehicles. Therefore, authorities should encourage the production and adoption of electric vehicles worldwide. Although promoting their usage can place a financial burden on governments, I contend that it brings significant benefits to the environment. On the one hand, government assistance for the manufacturing and use of electric vehicles can place a financial burden on local authorities because they may need to build charging infrastructure. They may also provide subsidies to car owners and manufacturing companies to encourage both groups. At the same time, authorities are already investing heavily in providing free education, healthcare systems, and pension schemes. These services are mandatory for maintaining social welfare. Therefore, adding support for electric vehicles may further strain public finances. On the other hand, I believe that the government should stimulate the manufacturing and use of electric cars to reduce carbon dioxide in our atmosphere. Unlike gasoline cars, which emit harmful gases, electric vehicles emit zero tailpipe emissions, significantly reducing air pollution and greenhouse gas emissions. To exemplify, a study by the International Corporation found that the United States alone could avoid 96 million metric tons of carbon dioxide per year by 2030 through widespread EV adoption. Thus, having government support can help to protect the environment. To conclude, even though government assistance for the production and use of electric vehicles can place a burden on public funds, I believe that it is a worthwhile investment since it helps to reduce air pollution and combat climate change.