The percentage of overweight children in western societies has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer solution.

In the last 10 years, there has been a significant increase of 20% of children who face obesity issues in many Western countries. The possible causes of this problem are fast-food consumption and a sedentary lifestyle. This can be mitigated by implementing the following solutions, such as imposing bans on processed foods and encouraging educational campaigns. The main cause of this issue is largely due to the fact of fast-food consumption. Some children are accustomed to eating processed foods that are high in salt and sugar content, leading to overweight problems. Additionally, people are leading a sedentary lifestyle where they do not have time to prepare healthy meals for their children. Therefore, the young ones end up having packaged foods, such as chips and soft drinks. For example, a recent study revealed that one in every 5 children is facing an obesity issue due to the practice of following unhealthy food habits. This problem can be mitigated by following the given measures. Firstly, governments can impose stricter regulations on restricting packaged food items, that are high in saturated fats and salt content. By doing this, students will automatically find healthier alternatives to satisfy their hunger. Another solution is to ensure that schools are focusing on organising educational campaigns promoting healthy eating habits. This solution will create awareness among children and cultivate good habits by choosing a balanced and healthy diet, which will significantly reduce the overweight problems. In conclusion, the percentage of children who are obese has increased by 20% in Western countries, and this is largely due to the overconsumption of packaged foods that are rich in sodium and fat content. This can be solved by the implementation of the following practices, such as imposing restrictions on processed foods and creating awareness through educational campaigns.