Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

Since the dawn of time, water has been a basic human right. It is essential for our health since we have to drink every day, and it helps us to be clean. These reasons make me agree with the idea of providing it free of charge to every home. If water were not free, people with little money would prefer to spend their money on other things, such as an accommodation or a cheap car. This part of the population would have much worse health due to the lack of water in their bodies. For that very reason, access to the liquid should be free for everyone. For example, a survey conducted by the sociologist Isaac Barbadillo in 2021 states that 95% of poor people would accept not buying large quantities of the liquid in order to buy other goods. In addition, that liquid has always been the way for humans to keep clean. It is clear that things like having a shower or washing your hands are essential to everyone, and they should not have an economic cost. If it were not free, bacteria would be much more present in our environment. For instance, a study made by the Medicine University of Barcelona states that without regular showers and hand washes, viruses and bacteria would increase their presence and eventually, diseases would be much more common and even dangerous. To conclude, as a consequence of health and in order to keep the population safe, I agree that basic services like having a shower or being hydrated should be free for everybody.