These days many people prefer online shopping to conventional shopping. What are the advantages and disadvantages of online shopping? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the number of people purchasing products from online shopping has increased rapidly. This is because the number of internet and smartphone users has risen dramatically than ever before. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon. To begin with, buying goods from an online store is suitable for societies who busy with their daily job activities, thus it saves their time while focusing on their duties, and eventually, increasing productivity. Furthermore, citizens are able to purchase goods from other countries, such as Amazon, Walmart and Shopify, which display a variety of items on the screen. In Indonesia, the number of people buying sweaters from China through online shopping has increased 15% in 2025 compared to the previous year. Besides, choosing the products in applications does not need to drive private cars to the conventional stores, hence it reduces air pollution and greenhouse gas emissions released into the atmosphere. However, purchasing items from online stores also has its own shortcomings. The biggest risk is fraud and scams. In Indonesia, the amount of money losses in because of this crime was approximately Rp90 trillion last year. In addition, sometimes the products are bad in qualities, with defects, and the specifications are completely different from the picture in the display. Moreover, online shopping also triggers consumerism, which means that society is buying goods more than they need, for instance, using credit cards or bank loans. In the long run, this behaviour will impede the road to financial freedom. In conclusion, online shopping offers convenience, a wide range of products, and less pollution, however, it also has its own disadvantages, which lead to scams, consumerism and bad financial decisions. Hence, consumers must be aware of its detrimental effects amid the rapid growth of e-commerce.