Children have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometimes starting until the age of five or six, right up until the age of eighteen. What are the advantages and disadvantages of making children do exams?

These days, tests are being taken more and most of the children are being made to take exams. While this method offers several clear benefits, it also presents certain drawbacks that should be considered. Exams assess students’ knowledge by testing them. They help to sort out the ones who are struggling and others who are able to pass the test. By doing so, teachers can practice with the struggling students to make them able to keep up with their thriving counterparts. While others, to whom tests might seem easy, might get questions and assignments which need extra problem-solving skills. This way, children who complete exams with ease, get to further improve their abilities. Regularly taking exams could also lead schoolchildren to develop discipline and accountability. Exams set clear expectations and deadlines, so students may start practising instead of procrastinating. It makes them allocate some of their time to study, revise school curriculum to prepare for the test and take responsibility for it. These habits – coping with pressure and meeting deadlines is helpful not only in school, but also in the outside world. However, since passing exams requires much effort and knowledge, many can get anxiety or stress over them. Because in many schools failing is neither acceptable nor are students supported by the school, they generally are frightened to fail. This could lead to schoolchildren feeling burdened by school and possibly causing some learners to become unwilling to continue studying. In addition, testing pupils’ understanding might make them learn only how to pass their tests. When pupils know their progress is judged mainly through exams, learning becomes strategic rather than meaningful. They focus on memorising likely questions and keywords instead of understanding underlying concepts. Education turns into pattern-recognition, not thinking and this way of studying almost always has detrimental effects on critical thinking skills and curiosity. Over time learners who passed their exams using this method are likely to experience difficulties in the real world, struggling to apply their skills in higher education or the workplace. In conclusion, taking exams is usually not easy. Preparing, revising, and organizing time requires effort and can foster skills necessary for the future. Nevertheless, some schoolchildren might not be ready for those and stress may become involved in this process.