Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debate on the use or disuse of capital punishment has remained a major topic of discussion amongst people. Although both sides hold strong and valid views, I think capital punishment should be utilised for major crimes because it is an assurance that such a criminal can no longer offend. A common view amongst groups against capital sanction is that rehabilitation is a better course of action rather than revenge, and it argues that being in the correctional system for a long period will possibly prevent repeat crimes. Studies have shown that capital sanction is a guaranteed crime deterrent, because it has caused some criminals to be less desperate and reckless. The use of capital punishment, although drastic, can help protect society and individuals from violent criminals such as terrorists, serial killers and murderous psychopaths. This is because it prevents repeat or further offences after they are caught. Capital trial also provides victims and their families a sense of justice and closure when it is carried out. For instance, several court interviews have shown satisfaction from victims, and their relatives who feel the violent criminal was properly punished for the crimes committed against them. Therefore, capital trial not only reduces repeat offenders, it also prevents an increase in the number of violent offenders. While I agree with the use of capital punishment, it is important that it should be reserved for only extremely violent offenders, and that such cases should be extensively scrutinised without bias to prevent mistakes with indictments. This way, there is an assurance that the human rights of the offenders can be protected while also protecting the members of society.