Many players advertise sports products. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages

Currently, many sports products collaborate with famous athletes to foster their annual sales. This phenomenon has significant benefits as well as drawbacks, which will be discussed together with viable reasons in the following paragraph. Firstly, an athlete mostly has many followers, which means they already have their own market or consumers. Furthermore, brand owners see this as a great opportunity to promote their products efficiently. Therefore, the collaboration between these two could become a powerful marketing strategy to increase and generate revenue. For instance, Lionel Messi has improved Adidas' profitability by 200% by posting a single picture of him wearing a hoodie. In addition, these kinds of strategies also increase customer awareness of an updated product from their favourites brands. Before Christiano Ronaldo wore Nike's new hat on TV, many fans did not recognize this product, and then it sold out only in a few hours. However, some sports players prioritise this activity more over their practice time, which leads to bad performance in games. In addition, another negative impact could happen if the sports influencers are involved in scandals, which could be a big loss for the brand companies. Last year, Neymar had ambassador contract with 10 different companies, subsequently, there were rumours that he was having an affair with celebrities, consequently, all of these brands pulled out of the contracts even though they had to sacrifice the investment. To conclude, advertising a product with influencers who have followers more than 1 million like an athlete has become an efficient and effective strategy to foster their annual sales, moreover its increases the visibility and appeal of brands to the consumer, but lack of practice and sensitivity news of these sports players are major disadvantages, which affect companies business and also their career.