There is a suggestion that all young adults should be required to participate in unpaid work to assist people in the community. Do the drawbacks of this requirement outweigh the benefits to both the community and the individual young adults? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Many people believe that young adults should do some mandatory volunteer community work. I believe that this is a great growth opportunity for them, and the advantages of it far outweigh the disadvantages. This essay will provide evidence to support my position. There are multiple benefits to young people participating in community work. First, it increases the connection between community components, especially between different generations. This is because volunteer work creates the opportunity for different generations to discuss different points of view with each other. Second, it decreases the need for foreign workers. As a result of the availability of local workers within the community itself, which has a great impact on society. Finally, volunteer work teaches young people how to be independent. This is due to the challenges they face and the skills they develop to solve problems and complete tasks by the deadline, which is important for them because these are indeed the skills needed to succeed in the work environment. However, there are a few disadvantages to mandatory unpaid work. To begin with, teenagers can benefit from this time if they focus more on their studies, since the community will benefit more from them if they have college degrees. Furthermore, it is better to use this time to bond with their families instead of random people; this is important since they might not find another opportunity to do so as their families grow up. These are limited disadvantages, since the mandatory volunteer work is just a few hours per week, which will not affect their lives dramatically. Therefore, the drawbacks can be controlled. In conclusion, the drawbacks are less significant than the social and personal benefits discussed above.