In today’s world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, how we look matters more than before. People tend to increase their spending on appearance just so they look younger. It is agreed that the typical beauty standard is only based on the superficial of certain bodily features, such as white skin, an anti-ageing face, a slim body, long black hair, etc. Moreover, it is the thing people do to acquire this that might be a bit concerning. We were born in diversity, in any shade of colour, type of body, and kind of hair. Sadly, in every country, there was already a flawless criteria for a person to feel pretty. Then we tend to feel like we need to change our figure, and if we have the money, we actually go through with it. This is not only costly but also agreeing to the fact that our physical is not perfect the way it is. Another negative effect of this kind of transformation is that it can be addicting. Hence, just like any addiction, it will be all of our focus, we work head over heels to do more of it. We spend our lifetime trying to transform to be that perfect woman (or man) instead of accepting our perfect imperfection. Once we grow older, it gets even worse. As we go through degeneration, we have a lot of creases on our faces or a dark spot all over them. Then again, if we have the money, we voluntarily choose to use chemicals or even go through another surgery for another physical change. We ignore the harmful effect underneath our restlessness on the inside for a charming body on the outside. Although there is ongoing research about age reversal or regeneration, I personally think it is not a good idea. We defy our nature and our fate. We are meant to grow old peacefully and naturally. Thus, I am against all money-spending appearance transformations only to look younger. And maybe we can spread more about the message of loving our imperfections because it makes us who we are. Who we are is enough and beautiful as it is. Hopefully, people will prioritize their money on the more important matters i.e. healthy food, a healthy lifestyle or even a cosier home.