Diet, and not exercise, is the most important element in maintaining one’s health. To what extent do you agree?

Society is very different today. Many individuals believe that diet is a main element in maintaining their health in comparison with exercise. However, I partly agree with that statement. I believe that both dieting and exercising are equally important to maintain overall health. This essay will provide evidence to support my opinion. On the one hand, there are several benefits of dieting. One of the benefits is preventing chronic health issues, such as stroke and diabetes. For example, certain dietary restrictions, such as fats and carbohydrates, prevent lipids from accumulating in blood vessels and insulin resistance that may lead to the previously mentioned diseases, respectively. Another benefit is seeking healthy weight loss. For instance, weight loss relies on dietary intake. Furthermore, high-protein low-carb diets increase fat loss while maintaining muscle mass to maintain a healthy weight. Lastly, undergoing diets and certain food intakes lead to boosting immunity. For instance, limiting carbohydrates, which are known to lower immunity, may boost the immune system. On the other hand, there are many benefits to exercising. For instance, it increases cardiovascular endurance. Thus, it lowers the risk of cardiovascular disease. Another is increasing muscle mass by strength training. For example, resistance training improves muscle strength, increasing metabolic rate at rest. Moreover, glucose regulation occurs, and calories are burned during recovery or resting phases. Additionally, working out is widely advised by mental health professionals. Furthermore, many research articles have shown an increase in the reuptake of a neurochemical in the brain responsible for relief and emotional regulation, known as serotonin. This leads to improvement in overall cognitive function and emotional regulation. In conclusion, it can be clearly seen that both diet and exercise are equally important elements in health maintenance.