People work because they need money. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above opinion? What are some other reasons that people work?

It is often argued that money is the main reason why people work. I strongly disagree with this statement because personal development and networking are two of the significant reasons why people are doing their job. To begin with, one of the compelling reasons is that developing personal skills is more important than earning a salary. When employees are enhancing their soft and hard skills, their personal value tends to be higher, making them more valuable to any company that would hire them. As a consequence, they can have higher respect and reputation, which leads them to priceless appreciations that money cannot buy. For instance, Ali Sadikin, the former governor of Jakarta, was underpaid during the time he led the city; however, until recently, he has still been respected by the citizens of Jakarta because of the undeniable impact he made on the city. This indicates that wage is not the main priority and the reason why individuals work. Furthermore, another argument is that the benefit of connecting to other individuals is more sustainable than working only for a salary. This is because friends and families are often more supportive and more reliable. A clear example of this can be seen in a situation where a person is in urgent need of primary needs. If we rely solely on work, it does not enable us to buy what we need. However, friends can be there to help us cover up this situation. Therefore, salary is not always the reason individuals do their job. In conclusion, although it is widely argued that people are working because they only want to earn money, I completely disagree with the statement because personal improvements and networking are more beneficial.