Parents should be punished for the crimes of their children. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of youngsters are participating in illegal activities. As a result, it is suggested that mothers and fathers should face punishment for their offspring’s wrongdoings. However, I do not support this idea. To commence, I assert that the youths are the culprits who should take the largest responsibility for the offences. Clearly, the children are individuals who should have critical thinking skills to determine the appropriate behaviours. Parents, although having part of the responsibility to guide them, cannot control how their sons or daughters behave. Therefore, the youngsters should undertake the cost if they violate the law. Also, they should understand their mistakes by punishing them, but not their families. Furthermore, I also consider that punishment of parents cannot solve the root cause of the crimes of their offspring. Undoubtedly, the neglecting parenting style may contribute to the misbehaviour of young individuals. More importantly, peer influence may even worsen the situation, thus making them break the law due to their immature mindset. Therefore, some may contribute to this reason and think that parents should be punished. However, punishing parents does not address the fact that children must learn accountability for their actions. On the other hand, I think the fundamental solution to the crimes of the children should be the correction of their actions instead of blaming their parents. Only if the children are well-educated by the law and recognize their misbehaviours can they turn over a new leaf in the future. For instance, engaging children through interactive methods, such as role-playing or discussions with law enforcement professionals, can help them grasp complex legal concepts in a relatable way. In conclusion, I believe parents should not be punished for their children's crimes. The children themselves are the primary offenders responsible for their actions, and punishing parents does not address the root causes of these offences. Instead, the focus should be on correcting the children's behaviour rather than placing punishment on their parents.