Some people think competitive sport is important for a child’s education. Others think it has negative effects on children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the world of children's education, many people have debates on what is necessary for children's growth and what is not. Among the common arguments, one that stands out is whether competitive sport is important for a child's education. When a child picks up a competitive sport, they are often considering it to be a long-term commitment such as Gianna Bryant playing basketball as a kid with hopes to be a future professional basketball player. In this essay, I will be discussing the advantages and disadvantages of deeming competitive sport for children's education as well as my personal views on this issue. Firstly, education cannot be singled out to only be about academics which many people presume. Education also involves growth, healthy development and gaining new experiences. Learning a competitive sport builds on that education by allowing them to earn lessons that cannot be achieved through studying. The diligence, determination and comittment that comes with athletes is very important for children's growth. Moreover, having a separate activity to do apart from school compels children to adopt a more discplined lifestyle. They would have built a habit to create and follow a proper schedule that aids their mental development which can help ease through their messy days and have a clearer and healthier mind. In addition, learing a competitive sport can boost the children's student record which can give them pathways to greater experiences in highschool or beyond. On the other hand, letting children practice a competitive sport may hinder their academics as they would hav to skip some classes due to practice or to join atheletics competition. Having this extra boulder, children may not be able to contain the stress from the busy schedule and that may negatively affect their studies at school. Additionally, a lot of children learning a competitive sport are forced due to their parents' greed of having their children be the 'best' at every aspect. This is very common in Asia as for instance, children as young as 4 years old in Hong Kong have packed schedules due to the high amount of extra-curricular activities they are signed up with. This can affect the youth's mental health negatively as they would put all of their energy in satisfying their parents. Consequently, in the case of the competitive sport not working out for children's future after paying all their effort and committment, they may have wasted their time on such sports when they could have put that energy into academics which would have an upper hand in getting into further education. Personally, I agree to a large extent that learning a competitive sport is important for children's education due to the many opportunities this comes with. Children are able to build an extensive record with not just studies but sports. I believe that it is essential to not have the youth consumed with academics and allow them to breathe through other activities. Choosing sports for that also helps them stay physically fit and healthy which is uncommon in today's world of junk food and unhealthy lifestyles. Overall, this prompt has both positives and negatives which should be evaluated before putting kids into competitive sport while having their education as their best interest. However, I trust that having an open mind to learning a competitive sport in vital for a child's education, growth and healthy development.