Some people want governments to spend money on other planets to look for life. Others believe that it is a waste of public money when there are many unsolved problems on Earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In the digital era, there is a doubt that governments should research other planets or focus on challenges on our small Earth. In my point of view, expenditure on research is a waste of money for nothing. Today number of the population is increasing year by year. Suitable places for living, natural gas, oil and other materials, water and other special needs are limited. If astronauts and researchers find another planet for life, part of humanity can colonise there. Otherwise, in the near future, people may fight for the basic needs of living. For instance, today, people in some parts of the Earth cannot find fresh water or food. Therefore, governments should spend money to find new lands for living. However, on the other side, if researchers find solutions for air or noise pollution, humans can live in big megapolises among metal forests. The reason is that although land and places to live are limited, people can expand them vertically. For instance, some farmers in China built farms with dozens of floors, and they are growing plants for a dozen thousand people. Additionally, if governments spend billions of dollars, which is needed for space, on finding vaccines for some illnesses or cleaning un-drinkable water, doctors and biologists will save millions of lives. For instance, if chemists find a way of killing microorganisms in water, people in Africa can use this technology to clean it. In conclusion, I think governments have to spend more money on solving problems on our small planet, instead of researching new life in other parts of the Solar system or other galaxies.