Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The advancement of technology has involved social media now, and everyone will be allowed to access any information they need. More people think that it should be managed by the government. I personally agree to make the internet safer than before, in order to save society, and this essay will explain why. Firstly, there is so much harmful content that someone can easily watch on the internet. For example, recently, there was a report about shooting a white owl, because it was very noisy at night, causing people cannot sleep well. Sadly, this video was not restricted or banned by the officials, allowing everyone can watch this. Moreover, there are also many unnecessary videos about sexual harassment, crime, bullying, and other topics. Secondly, it is going to be extremely bad if children see this kind of content. As we know, children are still learning by seeing, doing, and trying. This bad video can influence them to do the same. For instance, while kids see someone punch and kick an animal, they tend to be violent to their pets, or even severely violent to humans in the future. So, I think an uneducational content like this should be controlled by the authority. On the other hand, if the government excessively controls the internet, it might cause disadvantages. As an example, it will be hard to access notable knowledge from abroad, which is really needed for developing it. So, it will be better if it is not overcontrolled. But, I still in my opinion that the government have to control it as much as possible. To summarise, it can bring more advantages as the government controls the internet, such as avoiding people and kids from the bad attitudes. So, I firmly believe that this can give more benefits to society. After thorough analysis, it can be predicted that the more the government keep an eye on social media, the more people can better socialise and respect each other.