Some people think it is more impỏtant to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems such as railways and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion stating that the government should prioritise money spent on roads rather than public transportation systems. While the development of both these infrastructures is imperative for mobility, I agree that this money should be spent on roads for the reasons this essay elaborates. To begin with, roads and transportation systems are essential for economic activities, because products manufactured in plants and staple crops are brought to the cities using these public facilities. However, in big cities, road length has remained relatively unchanged for many years, meanwhile the number of vehicles is increasing more rapidly; hence, traffic congestion has become a serious problem. Therefore, proponents of spending more money on roads contend that this policy is able to reduce traffic congestion. On the other hand, spending money on public transport systems also has its own benefits. By taking this policy, more people will shift from private to public transportation, which leads to a reduction in traffic jams. For instance, in Jakarta, according to a survey by The Jakarta Post, the monorail built in 2015 is effective at reducing traffic jams by 7% per year. Furthermore, societies used to driving a private car will utilise public transport systems, and eventually cause less air pollution and fewer greenhouse gas emissions to be released into the atmosphere. For example, in China, the introduction of railways since the beginning of 2000 has been able to reduce air pollution by approximately 11% annually. In conclusion, I contend that while both of these spending options are imperative to reduce traffic congestion, building public transport systems should be prioritised because it will alleviate the harmful effects of air pollution and greenhouse gas emissions.