Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city centre. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

A great number of cities have specific days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are restricted in order to foster the city's environmental well-being. Community are motivated to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and the metro on vehicle-free days. While this conversion, to a certain degree, is disadvantageous, its benefits overshadow its downsides. One of the concerning drawbacks of this change is inconvenience. This change can generate adverse effects, as these days most people rely heavily on public transport, because it offers comfort and it saves time simultaneously. For instance, people with highly demanding jobs can not afford to lose any time, so they have no choice but to lean towards private transportation rather than public one. On top of that, numerous people are accustomed to this type of vehicle that it is complicated for them to adapt to a new style. Another disadvantage of this shift is that most of the public transport is out of reach for some destinations. This can be applied to people who want to check on their relatives in rural areas or for business people who are not able to deliver their products to certain destinations. Despite the fact that this change can cause some inconvenience, it has no end benefits, if you consider more crucial sides for the long run. One of the main advantages is that it reduces the rate of pollution, which still remains as a global problem to this day. For example, we have all struggled with hazardous gases which public transport emits. By moving on public transports, we can all enjoy the fresh air, which is hard to find nowadays. Moreover, a shift towards public transportation massively improves our physical well-being as well as preventing traffic jams. Public transport like bicycles is extremely beneficial for our health system, because having to move on bikes daily not only narrow down the rate of traffic congestion, but also improves our fitness level. In conclusion, this shift has downsides like inconvenience and the inability to reach complex destinations. However, the advantages of this change outweigh the negative sides, because it helps to enhance air quality and also boosts physical condition.