It is often said that it is not necessary to have a tertiary education to become a successful businessman. To what extent to you agree or disaree with this statement?

In life, being successful is not a guarantee - it is an achievement that requires dedication, sacrifice, and the mindset to always improve. Furthermore, this philosophy applies most to business, as it is one of the most competitive fields of work. Many people argue that a tertiary education, such as a master's degree, is needed to achieve success in business, as the education that universities provide is essential to business. However, I disagree, as success is not measured by how much you learn, but how much you execute. The person themselves is responsible for achieving success; a university can be a useful prerequisite, although it is possible for someone without a master's degree to achieve success within the field of business. To begin with, business is a skill that can only be learnt through experience, not by learning. The most successful businessmen are those who build themselves up from failure and always put in the maximum amount of effort to succeed, as they apply the lessons they learnt from their mistakes into their next business ventures. This type of valuable experience cannot be learned through achieving a tertiary degree; it can only be achieved through first-hand experiences. Therefore, a businessman who has years of experience working for and/or creating businesses will have a higher chance of success than a businessman who has less experience but spent more time in university. Additionally, business is a field that is constantly evolving. The information taught in university has a chance of being outdated in less than a decade due to evolving markets and technological innovation. Supply and demand constantly change, and it is up to the businessman to adapt to newer markets. University does teach the necessary information in order to adapt to change, but as I mentioned earlier, first-hand experience of adaptation will always be more beneficial towards the average businessman. Lastly, there have been many successful businessmen who achieved success without having a tertiary education. The first example that many people will think of is Mark Zuckerberg, who developed Facebook after dropping out of Harvard - he would go on to become the CEO of Meta, a billion-dollar company that is known worldwide. His story serves as an example that education isn't a prerequisite to success; sure, it can be a supplementary factor, but the most successful businessmen are those who can take advantage of developing markets. In conclusion, I believe that a successful businessman does not need a tertiary education due to the importance of experience, adaptation, and the drive to succeed. We should all strive to break through our limits and achieve the impossible, because, as simple as it sounds, it is the main contributing factor of success, both in and out of business.