In many countries, a small number of people have extremely high annual incomes. These people should be required to pay a much higher rate of income tax. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the modern world, it is undeniable that income inequality has become a serious issue in many countries. Although some people may disagree with the idea of imposing higher taxes on high-income earners, I support the view that individuals with extremely high annual incomes should be required to pay a much higher rate of income tax due to several important reasons, which will be examined in this essay. One of the most obvious reasons is that higher taxation on wealthy individuals can help governments fund essential public services. To illustrate, additional tax revenue can be invested in healthcare, education, infrastructure, and social welfare programmes. For instance, increased government funding can improve hospitals, build more schools, and provide financial assistance to low-income families. As a result, society as a whole can benefit from better living standards and greater social stability. Another point that should not be overlooked is that progressive taxation promotes social fairness. To clarify, people with extremely high incomes are usually in a better position to contribute financially without experiencing serious hardship. In contrast, low-income earners often struggle to meet basic needs. For example, asking a millionaire to pay a higher percentage of tax is far less burdensome than increasing taxes for workers earning minimum wages. Furthermore, progressive tax systems can help reduce the widening gap between rich and poor, which may lower social tension and crime rates. To recapitulate, it is evident that requiring wealthy individuals to pay higher income taxes can generate vital public revenue and promote greater economic fairness. Therefore, it is necessary that governments implement higher tax rates for top earners in order to create a more balanced and equitable society.