In some countries, people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons for this? How to change their views?

Advances made in air travel have shrunk the world. With these, today, people from all walks of life can travel abroad; however, the rise of international tourism is greeted with dismay by many. In this essay, I will present the reasons why some local people harbour unwelcoming attitudes towards foreign tourists and put forward some solutions to this issue. International tourists are now criticised mainly due to their contribution to environmental degradation. In many countries, many famous tourist destinations are now bearing the scars of vandalism committed by travellers arriving from outside. Other places of interest are also gradually being turned into which are comparable to garbage dumps, despite all attempts to reduce the amount of waste by the local community. In addition to this, many foreigners travel on a shoestring. In order to economise, many are willing to sleep on the streets in their tents, which mars the cityscape. What local authorities can firstly do to change the behaviours of foreign tourists is through education. While advertising the beauty of an area, the media should also strive to raise the awareness of prospective travellers about protecting it. The other method is to pass stricter regulations regarding littering particularly in popular tourist places. The high effectiveness of fining litterbugs is clearly demonstrated in the example of Singapore, where one can no longer find trash in public places. To summarise, the inhospitable feeling that the local people have for international tourists can be explained in many ways. I feel that this issue can hardly be solved by a single wave of a magic wand – it takes a great deal of effort from both the locals and the foreigners.