In many countries, there is a debate about the effectiveness of using longer prison sentences to combat crime. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving longer prison sentences to criminals?

There is an argument on the impact of utilising long-term prison sentences to combat crime in various nations. There are some benefits, such as discouraging criminals from committing crimes, and giving adequate time to change a criminal's mind, There are some drawbacks, like it can lead to overcrowded prisons and massive expenditure on maintenance. On the one hand, there is a debate regarding the effectiveness of using longer prison sentences to reduce crime. As a result, people who are committing crimes will be discouraged. Moreover, longer prison sentences will give sufficient time to change the criminal behaviour of the culprit. So, this lowers the crime rate in any country. For example, in jail, prisoners are busy doing the authorities' activities. However, it can not change their mind completely, but it initiates them towards the positive side. On the other hand, giving longer prison terms to culprits can lead to overcrowding the jail, and it will reach a point where the prison will be full of criminals. Furthermore, if the jailhouse gets full, the government should have to invest in workforce, food, and maintenance because ultimately, they have no other option left. So, the government should look into the matter of this genuine debate. For instance, in Kenya, in 1990, the prison was full with a number of culprits, so their authorities released criminals who had committed small crimes. In conclusion, this topic has both advantages, like changing criminals ' thinking in a positive direction, and disadvantages, like spending a huge investment to operate the jailhouse properly.