Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people think there are other effective ways to prevent crime, while others think that imprisonment for a long term will reduce crime, as this invokes fear among other criminals. I believe that Rehabilitation and educating them will be more beneficial. On the one hand, many people believe that criminals should be punished with longer prison sentences because this will create a fear of losing their families and many precious years of their lives in prison. For example, in the US, adolescent offenders who took the life of an entire family with their careless driving were imprisoned for longer sentences. This was a lesson for the other criminals, that irrespective of age, if one breaks a law will be imprisoned for a longer time. On the other hand, people think there are other possible ways to reduce the crime rate. Sending a convict to a rehabilitation center will help them restart their journey. Moreover, educating them will help them to get a job for them to ear for their lives. For example, in India, the offenders were forced to continue their studies from prison with the help of an instructor. And most of them had cleared their exams and were supported to continue their studies. Due to this change in the behaviour of the convict, they got released from the prison and are leading a good life. In conclusion, rather than punishing the convict with a prison sentence, we should support them to change their mind and help them to restart their life in a good way. So, I believe that education will play a vital role in reducing the number of crimes.