Because of the busy pace of modern life, many children spend most of their time indoors and have little exposure to the natural world. How important is it for children to understand and appreciate nature?

Nowadays, the advance in technology has made a significant change to our way of living. For many people, this means spending most of their time inside houses. This reality has many disadvantages to our life. Therefore, I believe that letting children grow up in a natural setting is the best way to overcome this problem. First and foremost, nature is a green space to breathe in fresh air and relieve yourself. It is a fresh start to get away from the hardship of jobs and the hustle and bustle of city life. Without the surrounding green space, we could not have a good quality lifestyle. Nature enhances both our physical and mental health. Secondly, nature provides us with basic necessities such as food and water supply, in addition to herbs that function as traditional medicine. Our society grows because of the resources from nature, such as non-renewable and renewable energies, from gas to coal to solar power. Moreover, we should use natural materials wisely. The materials which we use for construction or building things, like wood and stones, come from nature. Therefore, we should have responsibility to protect and preserve the natural surroundings. In conclusion, nature plays an essential role in human life, especially in the development of children. Living close to nature not only improves physical and mental health but also teaches people to appreciate and protect the environment. For these reasons, encouraging children to grow up in a natural setting is extremely important for a healthier and more sustainable future.