Some people feel that cities should allow for spaces for graffiti while others feel it should be banned. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There are some individuals who argue that authorities should allow artists to draw their art on walls, while others think this behaviour is wrong and should not be allowed. In this essay, I will explain both perspectives and include my opinion. On the one hand, graffiti is a form of art; it represents local people, such as their heritage and culture, which is also a powerful tool for youngsters since sometimes it helps advocate their voice. In addition to that, graffiti turns boring empty areas of the city into colourful, lively spaces. Also, graffiti can be used to promote tourism, which can lead to an increase in the revenues of the country. On the other hand, many think that graffiti should be banned since it has harmful effects. Firstly, property damage: some artists draw on buildings that belong to people who live there or work there; as a result, these acts damage their property and may cost them lots of money since some paints are hard to remove. Secondly, in some countries, graffiti is associated with criminal activities, which leads to making this kind of art illegal and may result in heavy fines or facing punishment. Thirdly, graffiti artists may destroy some historical pieces, for example, historical buildings and sculptures, to advertise for their art. To conclude, while I do think that graffiti is a beautiful kind of art that represents cultures and inspires many, I do think it sometimes harms people, and it should be practised when needed; therefore, I believe that governments should start to fine people who do not follow the law.