Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The threat of animal extinction is imminent, as some species have nearly died out, with the others facing the same hazard. This essay will first suggest that the principal causes of this are habitat destruction and poaching. It will then argue that these can be solved by environmental protection and an embargo on wildlife hunting. Certain species of animals are close to extinction because of the destruction in the natural habitat necessary to support life, although, this is not the only threat the animals face as they are being poached by humans. Their homes are being destroyed by industrialisation, deforestation and pollution. These activities done by mankind have disrupted the natural ecosystem that sustains their life, causing them to struggle for food and shelter. Moreover, many species are hunted illegally because of their value on the black market. They are killed in large numbers because of the price of their hides, skin and body parts. For example, rhinos and elephants are killed in great numbers because of the monetary value of their tusks. However, they can be preserved by enforcing conservative measures for environmental protection and placing a ban on wildlife hunting. The government and citizens can protect the wildlife by promoting reforestation and reducing pollution in an attempt to maintain the habitats. In other words, environmental conservation by creating wildlife reserves and ensuring proper waste disposal. Furthermore, legislative action should be imposed to stop the indiscriminate killing of wildlife, and ensure sanctions on any individuals who commit such acts. For instance, the Yankari Game Reserve in Nigeria is responsible for all environmental protection measures and the protection of wildlife. To conclude, destruction of natural habitats by pollution and industrialisation, as well as illegal poaching of animals, are the major contributors to extinction. Therefore, ensuring environmental protection and enforcing legislative actions against poaching and helps preserve the species.