Parents are putting a lot pressure on their children to succeed. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, parents are giving a lot of attention to their children in term/ terms of success. i believe that it leads to negative development, as they could become not open minded and they may be shy. On the one hand, a lot of burden is fastest way to reach their goals, as they will be under control of their parents. Moreover, having burden on child leads to have an exact purpose in their life compared to their classmates or peers, for example: parents know where they go and at what time what they do. For example: there are common activities after class among their peers such as playing video games or computer games, keeping in this mind if matures finish their class their friends can go these kind of places and have a fun, in this moment parents guide or teach their children not to go these kind of places, as the result they will get higher grades and reach success. On the other hand, too much force by parents can have negative consequences to their children: such as becoming less confident or not having any exact ideas. For example: everyday checking their classes, some might beat their child for minor mistakes, less confident, and also if mature has to do some type of action they ask from their parents, so they do not have their own view. To conclude,   i am strongly believe that parents should not put too much pressure for their child, but they should understand the balance between them and constantly check beforehand.