Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

A section of the community suggests that the authorities should spend public funds on development purposes that serve society, whereas others think that this money should be invested in entertainment sources. In my opinion, investing in music or cinema will bring a significant change in the economic and cultural development of a nation. To commence, a busy lifestyle and heavy workload in today's life have increased the stress levels, therefore, people often look for something that will bring joy in their daily lives. An increase in the budget of the film or music industry, not only helps the public to relax, but also helps a country to grow its economy. For instance, Spanish movies are contributing almost 10 percent in GDP of Spain, as the authorities help the film producers to promote their artwork on popular OTT platforms or big cinema halls. As a result, these movies are collecting big revenue, which therefore helps in the welfare of the public. Moreover, a big advantage of promoting artwork globally is that it will help a country to visualise the tourism attractions and show the richness of its culture. By doing this, more and more people from foreign nations will be attracted to these places. As an example, the Taj Mahal in India is visited by approximately two million travellers every year, which helps the nation with its cultural growth and to earn money through tourism, which they can use to serve the public. To conclude, although it is important for a government to invest in public interests, making high budgets to create and promote art culture, such as music and big films,plays a key role in the development of economic and cultural growth of a country.