Many people have suggested that young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in their local community. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It has been said that before starting a paid job, undergraduates should do social work in their neighbourhoods by supporting people who live in the area. The following essay will discuss some of the assets and drawbacks of the matter. On the one hand, it is believed that there is no better way to learn than through life experience. If students get interested in helping out with their community's needs, it will not only create a sense of sensibility and respect, but the opportunity to acquire new skills. For example, old people are always considered a vulnerable sector. Therefore, if the young helped them out in their daily living, such as, shopping, walking, company, among others, this could open their mind by learning from a wise and experienced group. It is clearly seen that some of the advantages of engaging with the adults, could develop in them a support network that could be beneficial younger in the future. On the other hand, creating economic stability is said to be harder these days. For this reason, students should not be wasting their time when they could actually start building a future. A clear example is that, most of the jobs are asking for 2-3 years of experience for beginner roles. How could this be possible when they have just finished their studies? This can completely explain why it is crucial for young adults to start looking for a paid job so they can be able to afford a living. To conclude, while non-paid jobs can give you experience, people also need to pay their bills by getting into the work-life as soon as they can. Therefore, the benefits could overcome the drawbacks of not having a payroll in their first working years.