Some people believe genetic engineering is a positive development that can improve human life. Others think it poses serious risks to society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A growing number of people believe that genetic modification brings several benefits to people's lives, while others argue that it can negatively impact social life. This essay will discuss both perspectives before presenting my opinion. Many people hold the view that gene editing can enhance human welfare, including curing diseases and preventing poverty. They claim that genetic disorder diseases, such as Alzheimer's or Down syndrome, can only be cured by modifying one of the letters in the genome. This is because these types of diseases cannot be healed by traditional therapies. Moreover, another common belief is that altering genes in food can help preserve food quality, making it last longer without chemical fertilizers. Thus, this advancement in food technology can be used in impoverished countries to prevent famine. On the other hand, many people think that manipulating DNA can also bring detrimental effects to society. They claim that new mutations in human genes to produce super soldiers will cause unintended risks, such as an imbalance in military power, because affluent countries can produce this army while underdeveloped ones lack the resources. In addition, some believe that designer babies can cause unmitigated marginalization in society. This is because they say it will lead to social division, where those with genetic defects will face genetic discrimination, causing them to distance themselves from the majority of the community. In conclusion, while genetic engineering can improve human life, such as treating incurable diseases and preventing food scarcity, the negative impacts related to super soldiers and social division should also be taken into consideration. In my opinion, all research on gene editing should meticulously consider ethical issues to control the risks caused by it.