Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individual and societies. To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that social media has had a negative influence on both people and societies. From my perspective, it seems convincing since people spend a large amount of their free time on social networking sites, and it exposes people aged under 18 years old to sensitive topics. To begin with, I accept that people feel connected through social media, so it has a positive effect on their mental wellbeing. Also, it provides more access to information that enables people to fulfil their own interests. For example, during COVID-19, people used social media to update their stories and share their daily lives. As a result, individuals were able to feel connected. On the other hand, I am convinced that social media has influenced us largely. Firstly, juveniles are often exposed to sensitive content. This is mainly because social media stays connected with the Internet, which means government regulation will not work perfectly. Therefore, young people would be exposed to cyber crimes: scams. For example, according to research (2019) in South Korea, young children experienced unwanted sexual harassment once a week due to adult advertising. As a result, social networking sites have a large negative impact on individuals. Also, social media makes crime easier than before. It is a way to involve people in crime easily. The internet communities do not affect time and place. Therefore, individuals are more exposed to scam crimes. As a result, the government will allocate more funds to the police. It means social media will become a burden for the government. In conclusion, social media influences natively on both people and communities. Because people are more exposed to sensitive content and crimes. Consequently, social networking sites have negative impacts.