School uniforms have always been a subject of heated debates. Some believe they should be compulsory in all schools. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that a school-issued dress code must be adopted by all students in academic institutions. I agree with this statement, as I believe it would foster an inclusive culture and serve as a sign of distinction between schools. One particular benefit of the specialised clothing is that it leads to social equality. Children enrolled in schools come from different, diverse backgrounds. There are distinctions based on culture, religion, gender, and social status. By setting a fixed criterion for dressing, children would feel less apprehensive and blend in with the majority easily, which boosts their confidence and competence. For instance, a recent survey conducted in Norway showed a positive impact of the introduction of the uniform policy, with a noticeable decrease in behavioural disruptions recorded. This strengthens the notion that introducing a set clothing style leads to a harmonious working culture at school. Another key factor to consider is that this academic dressing style would serve as a sign of prestige. By adopting a myriad of styles and colours in the uniform design, it would be easy to tell the schools apart. This is particularly true during interschool events, where learners from institutions across the nation compete. To support this idea, the spelling bee competition held last month showcased the talent of children from thirty different schools, who proudly represented their schools through their unique clothing. Thus, educational establishments should take this initiative as it adds to a school’s prestige. To conclude, although casual clothing brings more ease for people who are less privileged, the potential benefits of inclusion and a sense of dignity tend to outweigh the drawbacks. Consequently, the use of school uniforms leads to a more prosperous educational landscape and, eventually, to a more successful society.