In their advertisings, business nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Beyond a shadow of doubt that many businesses try to showcase their products in a modern way in their advertisements these days. Although I believe that it is a welcoming development, along with some shortcomings. Thus, this essay will shed light on both aspects in subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, there is a wide array of reasons why it is a positive advancement to display the new products in a different way from the previous ones. The most significant reason is the attraction of consumers, appealing to the desire for the latest and greatest. Besides this, advertising newness can signify innovation,suggesting improved features or technology, which can enhance user experience. To cite an example, Apple always emphasises novelty in their mobile phones and other gadgets to impress customers and accelerate sales in response every year. Moreover, marketing of new products can stimulate the economy by encouraging consumer spending and driving industrial growth. On the other hand, there are a multitude of reasons why it is a shortcoming to highlight the newness of recent products, such as serious environmental concerns, as it encourages a disposable culture and excessive consumption. Additionally, overemphasis on new items can create unrealistic expectations, as not all new products offer substantial improvements over older versions. Focusing on the 'new' can detract attention from quality or ethical practices, potentially misleading concerns. For example, according to BBC News, it has been seen that 70% of youngsters in the USA buy new smartphones every year despite having older ones in good condition because of the influence of advertising only. In conclusion, I would like to emphasise that there are numerous optimistic effects of this phenomenon, but it has some negative impacts which cannot be ignored.