The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that working days should be shortened with the extension of the weekend.I agree with this statement as it would lead to mental relaxation and productive family time for the workers. Firstly, by adopting this approach, workers will feel more mentally relaxed. In today’s fast-paced world, individuals are expending enormous energies in meeting the necessities of life. With rising inflation, opportunities for relaxation are limited, as many employees work double shifts. Overexertion leads to many health issues, such as stress, sleeplessness, muscular pains, etc. For instance, a recent survey in Japan shows that the majority in their thirties have developed rare work-related anxiety owing to pressures to meet workplace deadlines. Thus, the need to regain overall wellness demands long weekends. Secondly, the reduction in work hours and an increase in the relaxed phase would allow for more quality time with the family. As individuals remain busy throughout the week, they miss many important opportunities to contribute positively as family members. Whether it is birthday parties, anniversaries, or even emergencies, a person’s absence can have detrimental effects. In order to support this notion, in the United States, a study has shown an increase in cases of teenage substance abuse, mainly because of the inattention they experience at home, thus subjecting them to isolation and the resulting circumstances. This clearly shows the need for more free time for workers to spend with their families to help curtail these situations. In the end, although increasing the holidays might affect the overall productivity of the organisations. I strongly believe the potential outcomes of positive mental health and strengthened family ties outweigh any drawbacks. Consequently, a healthy laborer forms the foundation of a successful society and, eventually, the future.