Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games. To what extent do you agree or disagree? A few individuals believe that time spent reading storybooks is preferable to watching shows or playing video games.I completely agree with this statement, as I believe reading enhances vocabulary and polishes an individual's critical thinking skills. To start with, the read stories give individuals an opportunity to learn new words. This is particularly true for the children who are advised to read different genres of literature. Whether in primary or secondary schools, these linguistic tools play a crucial role in enhancing creativity, best expressed through speech and writing. Although TV dramas and digital games might play a role in learning different terms, they lack the formality associated with standardised English. Let me quote the Cambridge students of a local college in Pakistan as an example, who reached their target English score by spending an hour every day reading fictional texts by famous writers like Charles Dickens. Secondly,people who prefer literary works develop the habit of analysing things critically. This approach has a long-term impact on their lives, where situations demand an active state of mind. Gaining knowledge through reading different genres help refine real-life problem-solving skills. In contrast, the content viewed on screens, whether televisions or desktops, does not analyse situations realistically, thus playing a negligible role in devising practical solutions. For instance, many nonfictions work, such as biographies, prompt readers to recognise similar situations in their own lives and eventually resolve them, thus leading to a more fulfilling life. In conclusion, time spent reading a variety of texts is more beneficial than TV viewing or video games, as it leads to academic achievement and a refined critical mindset.