Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that parents are responsible for teaching their children good qualities to make them good neighbours, whereas others believe that school is the best place to learn them. This essay will argue that although parents provide the fundamental values, I believe schools offer a structured environment for their learning. On the one hand, mother and father are responsible for teaching fundamental values and behavioural basics. They teach core values like honesty, empathy, and respect through daily interactions, and how to regulate their emotions. For example, in India, parents teach morals and all other values required for children's well-being by homeschooling rather than sending them to school, and they behave well socially. However, I believe school plays a more vital role in shaping boys and girls for their future. On the other hand, schools provide an environment for learning social interactions, collaborations, and academic responsibility. Children learn to follow rules, share and get along with peers when they are in a school environment. For instance, in Canada, children are engaged in all the activities in their school, which makes them learn responsibility for their work and how to handle stressful situations very well. Also, schools foster community awareness in students, which makes them more socially well-behaved individuals. In conclusion, parents build the foundation and teach life lessons, but schools expose them to a broader perspective that allows the new generation to be good citizens in a larger community. Therefore, schools play an active role in developing social skills in children and make them productive members of the community.