Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is no denying the fact that using mobile devices is a crucial way to communicate with other people. It is a commonly held belief that more and more children spend most of their time on smartphones. This essay will discuss why this is happening and provide a clear view of whether this trend is positive or negative development. To begin with, there are many reasons why children spend a considerable amount of time on their phones. One of the major reasons is that there are many members of society who are under eighteen years of age who want to use social media. In other words, using social media platforms, such as Snapchat and Instagram, would allow easier communication with their friends. In addition, a huge number of children use their phones as a source of entertainment. For example, recent studies have shown that a large percentage of teenagers spend a substantial amount of time playing video games, such as Call of Duty and PUBG. In terms of the negative outcomes which are greater than the positives, children's communication skills in real life are declining over time. It is also possible to say that when a young individual communicates frequently in the virtual world rather than face-to-face interaction, his social skills, like talking to his parents, will decrease over time. Moreover, identity theft is one of the common ways for stealing personal information through the internet. For instance, some countries like Australia have been setting restrictions on using smartphones, especially for individuals who are under the age of 18, which is to prevent identity theft. In conclusion, there are many reasons why children should not be allowed to use smartphones, which contribute to a substantial decrease in their mental well-being.