One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, there has been an ongoing debate about whether improvements in medical care have more advantages than disadvantages. While some people believe that it has various benefits, such as an increase in life expectancy, others argue that it brings several challenges. On the one hand, many people believe that living longer has become a significant goal in every person’s life. This is mainly because nowadays the majority of health problems are identified, and doctors are often able to cope with them. As a result, there is a higher life expectancy than in the past. For example, during the eighteenth century, tuberculosis was a life -threatening disease, which could be considered one of the principal causes of death. In contrast, today there is a vaccine that can prevent it, and also different treatments to cure it. On the other hand, others claim that an increase in life expectancy leads to several issues. The first one is a change in the labour market. If the population is expected to live longer, the retirement age will be higher. Consequently, job opportunities for the younger generation may decrease. For instance, in Europe, the average age of retirement is increasing more and more, especially over the last two decades. In addition, the difficulty young people face in finding a job is a serious concern. In conclusion, both perspectives have their advantages. Although an older population could create economic challenges, I believe that living longer reflects an excellent result for human history and medical progress, as it allows individuals to spend more time with their families, enjoying their healthier and longer lives.