Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is no denying the fact that diseases need to be cured by a profession. It is a commonly held belief that individuals with health complications are trying other options rather than visiting an expert, such as alternative medicines and treatments. Does this development consider a positive or a negative? This essay will discuss both points of view and express my opinion. On the one hand, most members of society prefer to use an alternative way for curing diseases, due to its low cost. In other words, curing yourself through the use of herbs and other old ways from your mother, would significantly reduce the financial expenditure on medicine drug and hospitalisation. In addition, alternative treatment methods are more accessible for some individuals, especially for those who live in rural areas. For example, if you are living in a village, which is far from hospitals, you will depend on an alternative way to cure yourself. On the other hand, a considerable number of people do not actually benefit from this kind of treatment, which contributes to elevating the risk of death. It is also possible to say that if you had a major injury in your body, such as an infection or inflammation, you would need to visit a real physician. Moreover, using an alternative way instead of going to a healthcare provider would substantially increase the risk of disease transmission. For instance, recent studies have shown that Somalis’ individual health has a substantial vulnerability to infection, as a result of relying on alternative treatments, rather than visiting a doctor. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I believe that the disadvantages of this development outweigh the advantages, and regardless of the circumstances, we should visit a doctor seeking treatment.