More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution

In the contemporary era, societies tend to utilise private cars as a main means of commuting. Although it has benefits for individuals, this reliance can bring about many potential dilemmas, such as traffic congestion and air pollution. This essay will explain some probable solutions to address the mentioned problems. One of the main problems that lies in the excessive use of private cars is traffic jams. When personal vehicles are dominant in transportation, many cars come to the roads and they directly impact cities' traffic systems, since many roads and highways have defined capacity and they are not able to respond more. Furthermore, gasoline cars emit a noticeable amount of CO2 and other gases into the atmosphere, which can contribute to air pollution, especially in big cities and eventually ozone depletion. To tackle these problems, amenities of public transportation should be developed, since many people don't find any interest in public vehicles, due to the lack of convenience. For example, in Iran, many employees don't have any tendency to use subways or buses, since they don't have sufficient seats, and they have to get into trouble for long distances. Moreover, imposing penalties on passengers who use their cars unnecessarily on all days can be considered a reliable solution. For instance, Iran's government set a plan that permits people to use their cars in some areas without permission, and if they go to restricted areas without permission, they should pay a fine. In conclusion, over-reliance on private cars is associated with difficulties like traffic congestion and poor air quality. To address these problems, some measures should be implemented, such as improving public transportation systems and considering penalties for drivers who use private cars unnecessarily.