The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, there is widespread disagreement on forbidding advertising due to its inefficiency and harmful impacts. While opponents of this idea mention its benefits, I strongly believe that advertising should be prohibited. The reasons for this are as follows. First of all, it is interesting to note that most advertisements are not truthful. There is no licit and strict supervision of the content of published ads to check their accuracy, making it an ideal device for abusive advertisers to incorporate wrong content to attract more customers. This exploitation has resulted in unappealing and negative consequences. To give a salient example, in Iran, the producer company of Cerita shampoo argues that this product prevents hair loss; whereas, most consumers have complained about this product because of its adverse impact and exaggeration of their hair loss. Yet, perhaps the strongest argument for prohibiting advertising is the considerable waste of money on advertisements. Although authentic advertisements have the potential to attract more consumers and profit consequently, the expenses involved are exponential. According to statistics, 60 billion Rials were spent by renowned businesses in Iran to introduce their products to the public in 2024; meanwhile, these funds could have been invested in enhancing the quality of goods. So, if producers wish to be consistent in pursuing their dream of more economic progress, allocating such funds to improve the quality of their commodities is more justified. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that prohibiting advertising is a decisive measure and that advertising spoils a considerable amount of money. Allowing goods to be advertised by their consumers, therefore, is worthwhile, despite being time-consuming.