People living in the twenty first century generally have a better quality of life than people who lived in previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Compared to our ancestors livelihood, current living condition of humankind is significantly better and I strongly agree with this statement. During 1900s and before most people didn’t have access to proper healthcare. Therefore, the amount of people who died because of a simple cold is quite high. People nowadays can continue their daily lives without worrying about being sick because existing health facilities and medicines can protect their lives when needed. Back in the day our society wasn’t even strong enough to control an outbreak compared to now. Best example is the largest known outbreak in the history of mankind known as the “Black Death”. Although COVID-19 outbreak was worldwide, it was controlled and the damage was mitigated because of current strong healthcare systems. In addition, back in the day most people were dying due to not having access to proper food. Healthy and a safe meal was even considered as a luxury. Starving citizens were a common site in most countries. But these days most people are fortunate enough to eat a healthy and a well balanced meal easily regardless of their financial situation. For instance, low income families have access to food banks to collect fresh and various kind of food for free. This proves how much as a civilization we have evolved and live a better life. In conclusion, having access to quality medicines and healthy food have provided a better lives for the current people compared to old days.