Should governments or teachers be responsible for what is to be taught in schools? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

There is a rising debate on whether governments or teachers should be accountable for the education that is provided in schools. In my opinion, government should be held responsible for what should be taught in schools because it can help in regulation of equal levels of education and help in future development of a nation. Firstly, government will help in regulation of equivalent curriculum to all the students of same age group. Students who are of similar age should have attained similar levels of qualifications ensure fair competency at the university or college examinations. If the governments regulates a standardised curriculum in their nations, the students will obtain knowledge at same levels. On the contrary, if teachers are made responsible for the deciding the curriculum of schools, there can be a difference in subjects or topics across all the schools. This difference can lead to a vast disparity in the knowledge gained by students of similar age in same country. Additionally, this policy can help in the future development of a nation. Governments can include subjects or topics that requires more attention for a better progression of the nation. For example, if a country has higher pollution levels which is declining its reputation, government can include subjects related to environmental science in schools. As a reslult of this inclusion, studying these subjects from a young age can develop curiousity in students, which can further develop into a passion to find a neccessary solution on it. As a result, this step can help in promoting solution oriented mindsets in future. In conclusion, in my opinion, governments should be responsible for deciding the subjects that children should learn in school. This measure not only provides equal levels of education to students of similar age -groups, but also helps in future development of a nation.