Overfishing of the world’s oceans threatens many species with extinction and puts the livelihoods of millions of people around the world at risk. What are the causes of this problem, and what can be done to prevent it from happening? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Overfishing in the oceans has endangered many species and put millions of people’s lives at risk. This essay argues that the cause of overfishing is commercial activities and the high demand for fish consumption, and that the government must strictly impose new regulations to prevent this problem. The primary driver of overfishing is unethical corporate practices. Many commercial fishing companies prioritise short-term financial gains over long-term ecological sustainability; for instance, a lot of fishing industries operate their business in the oceans without limiting the number and species of fish as part of their management tool design. This example shows that a lot of companies still lack awareness of sustainable fishing practices. Additionally, this action is driven by high market demand for fish. As the global population grows, the demand for affordable protein sources has increased, pushing the fishing industry to catch more than the oceans can naturally replenish. To effectively combat this harmful business practice, the government should impose new strict regulations to limit the number of fish that the industries can catch in a given period. Furthermore, to ensure strict compliance, governments must actively monitor commercial fleets and impose severe financial penalties or revoke the operating licenses of companies that exceed their allotted limits. Consequently, by transforming the ocean from a free-for-all resource into a highly regulated environment, marine ecosystems will be granted the crucial time they need to naturally replenish their populations. In conclusion, although the overfishing problem is primarily driven by unethical practices of businesses it can be effectively mitigated if the government can regulate new strict regulations to limit their operations. Without such intervention, there is no limitation to harmful business practices in the fishing industry. However, with proactive measures, marine ecosystems can be preserved for future generations.